with what’s left of me
i will build a mountain
my fingers are trees
they point to the skies
my feet are long roots
sending down shoots
and drinking you water
my hair is wild grass
it falls down my sides
my flesh is the soil
earthen slopes of stones piled steeply
and my bones are just bones
buried deep

take a walk to the top
you can take in the view
take a good look around
for an hour or two
and if there’s something you’ve found
that you want
then you
can take it back down then
and with what’s left of me
i will build a mountain


from See You Later See You There, released February 26, 2016
Evan Kaspar: pedal steel
Josh Moore: vocals
Andrew Stevens: drums
Jesse Wooten: vocals, guitar, bass

poem: Emily Holladay Anderson, Bethany Bauman, Aisha Burns, Ginger Cantey, Jessica Hildreth, Adam Hosterman, Luke Kalloch, Gage Kuehn, Hilary Pelham, Daniel Jesse Pruitt, Cole Bee Wilson



all rights reserved


Black Balsam Austin, Texas

black balsam:
arron casper
daniel dillon
luke kalloch
mateo mares
jesse wooten

contact / help

Contact Black Balsam

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code